Young Africans Sports Club

Young Africans Sports Club is a football club based in Jangwani, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. Founded in 1935, the club play their home games at the Benjamin Mkapa Stadium.
Nicknamed “Timu ya Wananchi” (People’s Club) or “Yanga” (Young Boys), Young Africans is one of the two biggest clubs in Tanzania, alongside cross-city rivals Simba. The club has won 27 league titles and four domestic cups, and have participated in multiple CAF Champions League editions. They are also one of the biggest clubs in East Africa, having won the CECAFA Club Championship five times.
The club was popular among Africans, and became a symbol of the anti-colonial movement. Young Africans became associated with nationalists and freedom fighters, and inspired the political party TANU to adopt yellow and green as their primary colours.
The club’s roots can be traced as far back as 1910s, but the officially recognised history of the club started in 1935 when Dar es Salaam residents, who were grouped as Africans by the colonial administration in Tanganyika, decided to form a football club to compete in a league which was full of “non-African” football clubs. The name New Young is said to be the club’s first name. Later it was replaced by the name Dar es Salaam Young Africans SC, and eventually the name changed to Young Africans Sports Club.
After its establishment in 1935, its members squabbled over their team’s poor performance and results. The club had an even poorer and unsatisfactory performance in 1936 that caused some of the members to split and form another team. The proponents of breaking away were Arabs who saw fit to cause conflict among the club members that led to a split. They succeeded, and together with dissidents formed a club known as Queens F.C. (currently Simba). The two teams, Young Africans and Simba have been rivals ever since. The teams makes up the most entertaining clash in Sub-Saharan region, the eye-catching fierce and regarded on all the time top five talked about derbies in African football.

In 2020 Yanga signed a consultancy deal with La Liga. On May 27, the members of the club agreed to change their club’s ruling structure to allow private investments from other companies.

Djigui Diarra
Erick Johola
Ramadhan Kabwili

Djuma Shaban
Kibwana Shomari
David Bryson
Adeyum Saleh
Yassin Mustapha
Abdallah Shaibu
Dickson Job
Bakari Nondo
Yanick Bangala

Khalid Aucho
Mukoko Tonombe
Deus Kaseke
Feisal Salum
Zawadi Mauya
Saido Ntibanzokiza
Farid Mussa
Balama Mapinduzi
Jesus Moloko
Ditraim Nchimbi
Dickson Ambundo
Fiston Mayele
Yusuph Athuman
Yacouba Sogne
Heritier Makambo

Young Africans Sports Club Official Website is