Magharibi District-Mjini Magharibi, Zanzibar

Magharibi District
Zanzibar City (or Zanzibar Town, often simply referred to as Zanzibar; Swahili: Jiji la Zanzibar‎) is the capital and largest city of Zanzibar, in Tanzania. It is located on the west coast of Unguja, the main island of the Zanzibar Archipelago, roughly due north of Dar es Salaam across the Zanzibar Channel. It also serves as the capital of the Zanzibar Urban/West Region, and qualifies as a district, formally known as Zanzibar Urban District. In 2012 its population was 223,033.
Zanzibar City comprises two main parts, Stone Town and Ng’ambo; the two areas are historically divided by a creek, now marked by a large street called Creek Road. Stone Town is the historical core of the city, former capital of the Zanzibar Sultanate; because of its unique architecture and culture, it was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2000. Ng’ambo is a much larger, modern area that developed around Stone Town after the Zanzibar Revolution, with office buildings and large apartment blocks such as those of the Michenzani neighbourhood.
Old Dispensary, Stone Town

For parliamentary elections, Tanzania is divided into constituencies. As of the 2010 elections the area for Zanzibar City District had ten of the nineteen constituencies in the region:
Amani Constituency
Chumbuni Constituency
Jangombe Constituency
Kikwajuni Constituency
Kwahani Constituency
Kwamtipura Constituency
Magomeni Constituency
Mji Mkongwe Constituency
Mpendae Constituency
Rahaleo Constituency