Mtwara District Council-Mtwara, Tanzania

Mtwara District Council is one of the five districts of the Mtwara Region of Tanzania. It is bordered to the south by Mozambique, to the west by the Tandahimba District, to the north by the Lindi Region and to the east by the Mtwara Urban District and the Indian Ocean.
Mtwara District Council is one of the 9 Mtwara Regional Councils. It lies between longitude 390 0 “and 400 27” east of Grinwichi. It is also between latitude 100 0 “and 100 07” south of the equator. It is bordered by the Indian Ocean in the East, Lindi in the north, Mozambique in the south and Nanyamba in the west. .
According to the 2012 Population and Housing Census, Mtwara District Council had a population of 127,623 people who were 60,409 women and 67,214 men with a growth rate of 1.4. The majority of the population is Wamakonde.
Altitude change ranges from 0 to 350 meters across the Indian Ocean. The district has two Climate seasons, a warm rainy season (Masika) which runs from November to May and a dry and hot (dry) season from June to October. The average rainfall is between 800mm-900mm while the average temperature is between 230 C in June and 300 C in October.

The Mtwara Rural District is administratively divided into six divisions, 17 wards, and 101 villages.