Nanyumbu District Council-Mtwara, Tanzania

Nanyumbu district Council which is hardly a decade old since its inception, is one out of nine Districts in Mtwara region. The District was established under Local Government Act and officially announced on 29th July 2005 by the former president of United Republic of Tanzania Benjamin William Mkapa. The operation of the District council started in July 2007. Mangaka is the District Head quarter and it is located about 54 kilometers from Masasi Town along Mtwara – Songea Road.
Nanyumbu District is composed of 4 administrative divisions and one constituency namely Nanyumbu constituency. The District is further sub divided into 17 wards, 93 registered villages and 526 hamlets. The districtis comparatively the largest amongst other nine councils in terms of geographical coverage with a total area of 5,071.5 sq km. Its physical size is 30 % of the whole region which has a land area of 16,720 sq km. The district is situated between latitudes 360 and 380 East of Greenwich and latitudes 100 and 120 south of Equator. The District shares borders with Nachingwea District to the North, Masasi District to the East, Tunduru District to the west and the Democratic Republic of Mozambique to the south.

Nanyumbu County Council wants you to have a community with a high, sustainable standard of living by 2021.
Nanyumbu District Council, in collaboration with its stakeholders, aims to provide high quality and sustainable service to the community through
A participatory and democratic approach using available resources.