Korogwe Town Council-Tanga, Tanzania

Korogwe Town Council is one of eleven councils in Tanga region and was formed in 2005 after the growth of the existing City Authority from 1996-1997. Korogwe Town Council is located in the central part of the Region and is surrounded by other areas of Korogwe District (surrounded by Korogwe District Council) except for Handeni District in the south. It is located at latitudes 50 and 5014 ‘S and at latitudes 38023’ and 30033 ‘E.
Korogwe Town Council is the second largest city in Tanga Region after Tanga City. Korogwe Town Council has 11 wards and 24 localities within an area of ​​212 square kilometers, which is the smallest of the 11 councils in Tanga region.
Despite being central to the Region, Korogwe Town Council is connected to all areas of Tanga Region, the northern regions of Kilimanjaro and Arusha and the Coastal Regions and Dar es Salaam to the south. Tanga City is approximately 93 kilometers from Korogwe Town, Arusha 344 km and Dar es Salaam 305 km. and colonial spies, businessmen, missionaries and colonial rulers. Korogwe Town is currently the center of trade and services on the main railways and roads from Dar es Salaam, Tanga and Arusha.
According to the 2012 Tanzania National Census, the population of Korogwe Urban District was 68,308
Become a Leading Council in providing quality services to citizens for sustainable development.
Provide quality and efficient services using available resources for sustainable development.

In 2012, Korogwe Urban District was administratively divided into 8 wards.
Old Korogwe